Gluten-Free Rhubarb Pie

I’ve got this donated bag of gram flour, which I discover is gluten-free.  So I’m chatting with a friend who’s coeliac and whose husband  happens to be vegan.  She tells me about the difficulties of making pastry to suit the household.  So I tell her about my mom’s oil pastry; how easy it is to make and how flaky it always turns out. I could try that with the gram flour, couldn’t I? We’ve just harvested some rhubarb and I wanted to make a pie this week anyway. Here’s what I came up with (it’s also vegan if you choose the right options):

Makes one 9-10 inch pie

Filling ingredients:

4 cups Diced rhubarb (or 3 cups rhubarb and 1 cup raspberries)
1 cup Granulated sugar
3 tablespoons Corn starch/corn flour/ arrow root flour
Dash Salt

Crust ingredients:

2 cups Gram flour (or your favourite gluten-free blend)
1 ½ teaspoons Salt
½ cup Vegetable oil
4 tablespoons Milk /soy milk/water

Final ingredient:

2 tablespoons Butter or margarine

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450F/230C/gas mark 8
  2. Sift together dry filling ingredients, then mix with fruit. Set aside for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

    Picture of rhubarb pie filling with sugar crystals showing

    See how sugar crystals cover the fruit.

  3. Sift together dry crust ingredients.
  4. Measure oil into a one-cup measuring cup, and measure milk into same container. Do NOT stir.
  5. Add liquids to flour; stir with fork.  picture of mixed up pie crust
  6. Divide dough into two balls.
  7. Place first ball between two sheets of waxed paper and roll to fit 10 inch pie dish.
  8. Lift off top paper, transfer to pie dish, then remove bottom paper.
  9. The sugar in the filling mixture should be fairly well dissolved by now.

    Picture of pie filling with sugar crystals dissolved

    I used a combination of rhubarb and raspberries this time.

  10. Spoon filling into pie shell, scraping the bowl clean with a rubber scraper.
  11. Dot with butter or margarine now. (I often forget; it makes a mess lifting the top crust off later.)
  12. Roll out top crust and transfer to pie.

    Picture of top crust being placed on pie

    Note how thick the crust is rolled.

  13. Crimp edges. Cut vents if there are no tears. Crumble up any scraps of crust and scatter on top.
  14. Place in oven, reducing heat immediately to 350F/180C/gas mark 4.
  15. Bake for about an hour. Top will be dark golden and crispy.  Picture of baked pie

My first attempt at gluten-free baking focused on the gluten-free aspects in order to assess the chemical changes from my usual recipes for both filling and crust. The filling was fine, but I have to confess that the crust didn’t come out flaky. I know the crust works with either milk or water, and soy milk should make no difference, but I usually use milk, so that’s what I did this time. The gram flour is much heavier than the plain flour I usually use. The bottom crust tore when I transferred it from the paper to the pie plate, but sealed up reasonably well.  It feels quite a lot oilier than I’m used to. However, it passed the most important test: my husband loved it, commenting favourably on the crispiness. I’ll probably make it again.

Based on the conversation I had with my friend, I assume you could lighten the heavy effect of the gram flour with a blend of gluten-free flours, and a bit of experimentation with the amount of oil might result in a pastry that is closer to traditional texture. I’m not sure if tears can be eliminated though, simply because of the lack of gluten. I would be happy to hear from anyone who tries this recipe, and any variations you give it.

I'm an American living in the UK, combining rural Mid-west ideas about food with a suburban coastal British reality. It's fun!

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Recipes
2 comments on “Gluten-Free Rhubarb Pie
  1. Fairy says:

    I had never heard of gram flour so had to google it and I discovered that it is what is known as chickpea or besan flour here in Australia.

    I have a gluten-free cookbook which is written by a chef who has coeliac diease – a perfect storm, so to speak! She points out that none of the gluten free flours have the same properties as wheat flour so a carefully developed combination works best (more details later). I use half and half chickpea and potato flour for thickening gravy or making white sauce for savoury dishes. Personally, I would not use it in a ‘sweet’ dish as I find it has a very distinctive savoury type flavour.

    I look forward to discussing the fun that is gluten free baking with you. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for the info; it’s a steep learning curve. Fortunately for me, I’m not being forced into it by health issues, but an increasing number of my friends and acquaintances are. So I’m taking advantage of the opportunity to develop skills. Looking forward to more!

      Like

What do you think?

What’s Creative Economy in the Kitchen about?
Sharing a lifetime of experience of kitchen challenges. Respecting food and making the most of what's available. Read more on my About page.
Search the site by category

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

March 2015
Image of versatile blogger award
Blogging U.
Copyright
© Julia Davis-Coombs and Creative Economy in the Kitchen, 2014-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Julia Davis-Coombs and Creative Economy in the Kitchen with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Patty Sliney: Master Your Machine

Sewing, Embroidering, Quilting on your Husqvarna Viking Machine

Pies and Prejudice

A blog about food (particularly pies) told from a biased point of view.

Somewhere, Anywhere

Holiday Adventures

justbeforethevision

seeing greatness in ordinary things

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

