Using Food ‘Donations’

I think I have a bit of a reputation.

I’m not sure what it is, but it results in people giving me food I haven’t asked for. Often, it is leftovers following a visit to my mother-in-law. Sometimes, it is a cleared-out fridge when the neighbours are going on a long holiday. I understand these. My mother-in-law is widowed, and doesn’t believe she can use up all the leftovers from a family gathering by herself (and she seems to think my husband still has a never-ending teenager’s appetite). The neighbours know they can’t consume their perishables while they’re away, and since we’re looking after their house plants, it’s a nice gesture. Other donations, however, make me wonder what people think of me.

Recently, I’ve been on the receiving end of all sorts of kitchen goodies from a random friend. I don’t know why, but a bag appears, and it’s a lucky dip. Half of a BOGOF, unopened cupboard stores nearing or past their best-by date, an open but barely used sack of flour or packet of spice, a nearly empty bottle of extra-virgin olive oil. Occasionally, there’s a theme, and I can see that they have experimented with some kind of food, such as Asian cooking, but decided not to pursue it.

Picture of bottles or bags or curry powder, coriander seed, whole cumin and gram flour

Ingredients for Asian cooking

Regardless where the donations come from, I say ‘Thank you’, sort and incorporate the new things into my kitchen. There is almost never something I can’t use from any of my sources, although there is often something I haven’t used before (such as gram flour) and frequently there are things I wouldn’t have thought of  (such as bottled fish sauce) and convenience foods, which I don’t normally buy.

I think of these donations as opportunities.

First, I decide what is most perishable, and plan its use into my menu for the next few days. If nothing else, I might be able to use extra perishables in a lunch.  Spices past their best-by date? They won’t hurt you, but they won’t have maximum flavour; I give them a sniff test. Anything else past its best-by date I open with care and use my own judgement–if in doubt, throw it out. (Much as it pains me!)

Next, I make a (literal) note of things that can be used for a last-minute meal, when a day hasn’t gone according to plan, or when I know I won’t have much time. This goes on the fridge, where I can see it all the time. Once we’ve used them, I make a (metaphorical) note of what we liked and might buy for ourselves another time.

Finally, I look for inspiration from anything else. That collection of Asian ingredients?  I’ll be attempting onion bhajis in the next week or two.

Maybe my reputation is exactly what I’d like it to be.

I'm an American living in the UK, combining rural Mid-west ideas about food with a suburban coastal British reality. It's fun!

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Kitchen Economy
2 comments on “Using Food ‘Donations’
  1. Gale Wright says:

    Look how much fun you are having with these gifts! I think your friends and family just want to make you happy!!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

What’s Creative Economy in the Kitchen about?
Sharing a lifetime of experience of kitchen challenges. Respecting food and making the most of what's available. Read more on my About page.
Search the site by category

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

March 2015
Image of versatile blogger award
Blogging U.
Copyright
© Julia Davis-Coombs and Creative Economy in the Kitchen, 2014-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Julia Davis-Coombs and Creative Economy in the Kitchen with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
organised castle

A simple, sustainable life

Patty Sliney: Master Your Machine

Sewing, Embroidering, Quilting on your Husqvarna Viking Machine

Pies and Prejudice

A blog about food (particularly pies) told from a biased point of view.

Somewhere, Anywhere

Holiday Adventures

